Outstanding COEHP Faculty Members Honored at Reception

Apr 29, 2019 | Accolades, College News

COEHP Faculty Awards 2018-2019

The University of Arkansas’ College of Education and Health Professions presented 2018-19 awards to outstanding faculty on April 26 at a University House reception.

“We truly have an outstanding group of faculty and staff members,” said Michael T. Miller, dean of the college. “Those honored today really do represent the best of the best, and their work has paved the way for both our students’ success and our growing national reputation as a leader in education and the health professions.”

College Council Chair Lisa Bowers said, “All of the nominees and their supporting materials provided evidence of the hard work of COEHP faculty in serving students, the university, professional organizations, and academic disciplines.”

Dean Miller with faculty award winners

This year’s winners are:

Sharon Hunt, professor of kinesiology:

Career Faculty Award in Recognition of a Career that Exemplifies Outstanding Performance

Hunt, who has worked in a variety of influential roles in the College of Education and Health Professions for 29 years, is retiring in May. From 1990 to 2011, Hunt served as the head of the Department of Health Science, Kinesiology, Recreation and Dance (HHPR’s previous department title). She served as the interim dean for the College of Education and Health Professions during the 2000-01 school year. She has also served on numerous committees within her department and across campus. Her research and commentaries have been published in a variety of national journals.

In her role as faculty athletics representative from 2010 to 2017, Hunt worked closely with the athletic department and the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. She also represented the University of Arkansas at various Southeastern Conference and NCAA meetings. Click here to read more about Hunt’s COEHP career.

Gema Zamarro, associate professor of education reform:

Outstanding Mentoring and Advising Award

Nominators cited Zamarro’s proactivity in helping students prepare for events that advance their professional careers, including practice sessions prior to conferences, workshops on pertinent topics, writing letters of recommendation and providing feedback on cover letters. She encourages research collaboration and has co-published papers with multiple students. Zamarro regularly advocates for — and celebrates — her students’ successes.

Brendon McDermott, associate professor in health, human performance and recreation:

George Denny STAR Award for Outstanding Service, Teaching, Advising and Research

McDermott is known for his open door policy and availability to students beyond classroom hours.  McDermott is consistently voted a best advisor. McDermott is also actively engaged in directed research with graduate students, involving them in research publications and presentations. He is often invited to lecture about his research at regional and national conferences, a testament to his status among peers in the field of hydration research. Nomination letters point to his impact among students and how they excel under his mentorship.

Rachel Glade, clinical assistant professor of communication disorders:

Innovative Teaching Award

Nominators pointed to Glade’s new teaching method (in advance of upcoming accreditation standards for 2020) that have transformed Introduction to Clinical Practice and provides enhanced observation opportunities. Glade regularly uses technology and service-learning components to promote student engagement. She has also demonstrated innovating teaching methods through inter-professional learning experiences for students with over 20 community partners in Northwest Arkansas. Students are able to gain firsthand experience with working on care teams in hospitals, schools and private practice settings. Glade is sharing her knowledge and wrote a textbook entitled Communication Disorders: Foundations and Clinical Applications for Educators and Emerging Disorders that will be published later this year.

Suzanne Kucharczyk, assistant professor of special education:

Rising STAR Award for Outstanding All-Around New Faculty Member

Kucharczyk’s nomination letters noted her excellence in teaching, research and service. In fall 2018, she served as program coordinator of special education and although it was an extensive time commitment, she receive high marks from students in her classes. In the area of service, Kucharczyk’s worked on a variety of committees. Kucharczyk authored four articles in peer-reviewed journals and two book chapters, and currently has an additional seven articles and one book chapter in press. She has also made presentations at four national/international professional conferences and is the principal investigator on a federal grant funded at nearly one million dollars.

Suzanne Kucharczyk, faculty awards

Kristen Jozkowski, associate professor of community health promotion:

Significant Research Award

Nomination letters note that Jozkowski’s excellence in research has brought honor and outside awareness to the University of Arkansas. Due to national recognition in the field of human sexuality, she was invited to submit a large-scale research proposal, along with other well-known institutions, and her team won in August 2017. The contract was signed in early 2018 with a total funding amount of $16,773,943 over 6 years. This project stands to have an important impact on the fields of public and reproductive health.

“She has demonstrated how hard work and intelligence can lead to national recognition and great success,” one nomination letter stated.

Marcia Imbeau, professor of special education:

Superior Service Award

Imbeau was praised by nominators for performing a “staggering amount” of service for the profession, community, and the university. She has served on the University Appointment, Promotion and Tenure Committee for many years, most recently as chair-elect, and has played an integral role in moving the entire campus forward with the creation of new promotion and tenure policies. Imbeau is not only active in numerous professional associations at the state level, but also the national level. She also offers her professional services to local schools in Northwest Arkansas and reviews multiple nominations for U of A student awards and scholarships.

Marcia Imbeau, faculty awards


Print Friendly, PDF & Email